I made bread! Bread! Bwah-ha-ha-ha!!!!!  With the exception of the internet sensation, No Knead Bread, I have never, ever been successful at making bread. And as crazy-delicious and easy as No Knead Bread is, it’s just not so practical unless you have two days for the whole process. Anything that requires hand-kneading has just been a complete failure for me, ending up with dry, flat, super-dense bread.  Yuck.

Part of it is because I’m not sure of what texture I’m going for with the dough. How much to knead it. When to stop. Complicating things is that my kitchen counters are really tall, making it not so comfortable for my short self. It’s just not so comfortable after a few minutes of mauling dough.

That is until……

Kitchen Aid Ultra Power
Kitchen Aid Ultra Power

Ta da!! Isn’t she gorgeous? I’ve been eying this beauty for years! But I’ve hemmed and hawed over how expensive these stand mixers are. I finally caved after finding this awesome Groupon deal for a Kitchen Aid Ultra stand mixer. And since her arrival, I’ve made something every day with it! OK. It’s only been three days, but still! Absolutely no regrets on this purchase.

I thought I’d make some dinner rolls as my first project because bread has definitely been something I’ve struggled with without a stand mixer.

The dinner rolls mixed up like a dream! Now that I know exactly what it means to “knead the dough until smooth, silky, and not sticky,” perhaps I’ll give hand-kneading another go…or perhaps not. The Kitchen Aid makes everything so perfect and easy.

P1010788

Abrazos! Anah

My (Kitchen Aid’s) masterpiece…

Light-as-air dinner rolls!
Light-as-air dinner rolls!

P1010792

Dinner Rolls

Makes about 24 rolls

(adapted from this recipe)

INGREDIENTS:

1-1/4 cups warm milk

2 teaspoons active dry yeast

1/4 cup sugar

1 eggs

1/4 cup butter, softened

1 teaspoon salt

3 cups all-purpose flour, may need more depending on humidity

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

2 Tbsp butter, melted

DIRECTIONS:

Pour milk into a large mixing bowl, and sprinkle yeast over the surface. Allow to rest for 10 minutes. Beat in the sugar, eggs, and salt; blend thoroughly.

Gradually stir in the flour and softened butter to make a soft dough. If making in a stand mixer, mix using a dough hook until dough releases from the sides of the bowl and the dough is soft and silky in texture.

Cover bowl, and set in a warm place until dough doubles in size, about 1 hour. [My kitchen is on the cool side, so I placed the covered bowl in the oven with the oven light on, then turned the light off after 30 minutes]

Punch down the dough, cover the bowl, and allow to rise again, 30 minutes.

Break off 2 to 3 inch size pieces of dough, roll lightly into round shape, and place in lightly greased muffin tin (or 9×9 inch baking pan).

Repeat to make 24 dough balls. Cover and let rise until doubled in size, 30 minutes.

After this rise, you can freeze the dough balls for baking later. To heat rolls from frozen, remove frozen dough from freezer. Place in greased muffin tins and allow to come to room temperature, 30 to 40 minutes.

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Brush tops of rolls lightly with melted butter.

Bake rolls in preheated oven until tops turn golden brown, 10 to 15 minutes. When rolls are finished baking, drizzle more melted butter over the top, and serve warm.

